

REPUBLIC OF KENYA THE NATIONAL TREASURY AND ECONOMIC PLANNING

PUBLIC NOTICE

DRAFT NATIONAL POLICY ON VIRTUAL ASSETS AND VIRTUAL ASSET SERVICE PROVIDERS; AND VIRTUAL ASSETS SERVICE PROVIDERS BILL, 2024

The National Treasury and Economic Planning through a Multi-Agency Task Force has developed a draft National Policy on Virtual Assets (VAs) and Virtual Assets Service Providers (VASPs); and the Virtual Assets Service Providers Bill, 2024. The Policy and the Bill provide a framework for oversight and development of the Virtual Assets ecosystem. The documents are available on the National Treasury website (www.treasury.go.ke).

Pursuant to Sections 4(a) and 5(3) (a) and (b) of the Statutory Instruments Act, 2013, the National Treasury and Economic Planning is undertaking public participation on the Policy and the Bill and hereby invites the members of the public to submit their views to the email address pstnt@treasury.go.ke and copied to vasps@treasury.go.ke on or before 24th January 2025 using the template provided on the National Treasury website.

In addition, the National Treasury will be conducting public participation forums across the country as per the schedule set out below. Members of the public are invited to come and give their views on the two documents.

#	Venue	Date	Target Counties	Time
1.	Mombasa	20 th January, 2025	Mombasa, Kwale, Kilifi, Tana River,	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
	City		Lamu and Taita Taveta	
2.	Kisii	20 th January, 2025	Kisii, Migori, Homabay, Nyamira	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
3.	Machakos	22 nd January, 2025	Machakos, Kitui, Makueni and Kajiado.	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
4.	Kisumu	22 nd January, 2025	Kisumu, Siaya, Busia, Vihiga, Kakamega	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
	City		Bungoma and Kericho.	
5.	Nyeri	24 th January, 2025	Nyeri, Embu, Tharaka Nithi, Murang'a	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
			and Kirinyaga.	
6.	Eldoret	24 th January, 2025	Uasin Gishu, West Pokot, Trans Nzoia,	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
			Nandi, Bomet, Elgeyo Marakwet and	
			Turkana	
7.	Meru	27 th January, 2025	Isiolo, Wajir, Mandera, Marsabit, Garissa	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
			and Meru.	
8.	Nakuru	27 th January, 2025	Nakuru, Laikipia, Narok, Nyandarua,	9:00 am – 1:00 pm
			Samburu and Baringo.	
9.	Nairobi	29 th January, 2025	Nairobi and Kiambu	9:00 am – 1:00 pm